Minutes of the

American Legion Auxiliary

DEPARTMENT EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

June 19, 2018 (Teleconference Call)

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by President Debbie Lowndes at 7:01 p.m.

Present:

National Officers

National NEC Lisa Williamson Alternate NEC Penny Mazonna

Officers

President Debbie Lowndes

1st Vice-President Jane Larson

2nd Vice-President Yvonne Lamm

Secretary Barbara Nath

Treasurer Diana Estrada

Sgt.-at-Arms Lori Fruwirth

Chaplain Marge Blankenship

Historian Ann Robinson

Executive Committeewoman April Sinclair

Executive Committeewoman Ann Foley

Committee Chairmen

Americanism Chair Sue Waldhaus

Auxiliary Emergency Fund Chairman Zona Gregg

History Chair Ann Robinson

Children and Youth Chair Barbara Hummel

Community Service Chair Kathy Moore

Distinguished Guests Chair Lisa Williamson

Education and Scholarship Chair April Sinclair

Finance Chair Jane Larson

Girls State Chair Yvonne Lamm

Junior Activities Chair Sharon Dillon

Leadership Chair Colleen Newman

Legislative Chair Marge Blankenship

Membership Chair Yvonne Lamm

National Security Chair Lisa Williamson

Past Presidents Parley Barbe Wolkoff

Poppy Chair Lori Fruhwirth

Public Relations Lori Wolfe

Veterans Affairs and Rehabilitation (VA&R) Chair Jane Larson

Units

Jack Henry Unit 1

Joseph P. Craig Unit 3

Seward Unit 5

Merlin Elmer Palmer Unit 6

Dorman H. Baker Unit 11

General Buckner Unit 16

Ninilchik Unit 18

George H. Plumley Unit 20

Spenard Unit 28

Muldoon Unit 29

Peters Creek Unit 33

Susitna Valley Unit 35

C. Russell Huber Unit 57

Past Department Presidents

Eva Aulston

Margaret Blankenship

Susan Caswell

Sharon Cherrette

Lavonne Collier

Lori FitzSimons

Rehta Foster

Penny Mazonna

Carolyn Null

Betty Randall

Sue Waldhaus

Lisa Williamson

Barbe Wolkoff

Excused

Committee Chairmen

Audit Linda Schmitt

Constitution and By-Laws Chair Sue Diaz

Past Department Presidents

Sue Diaz

Linda Schmitt

Absent

Units

Lynn Canal Unit 12

Sitka Unit 13

Matanuska Valley Unit 15

Robert G. Blair Unit 17

Nome Unit 19

Gladys M Heintz Memorial Unit 27

Con Miller Unit 30

Chappie James Unit 34

Peter Heyano Unit 442

Past Department Presidents

| Lynn Bash | Ruth Brown | Betty Bumala |
|--------------------|--------------|----------------|
| Sue Cherrier | Jean Clayton | Beverly Eads |
| Francisca Guilford | June Haas | Laverne Kearns |
| Evelyn Oliver | Jill Pawson | Betty Porter |
| Judy Pusti | Jean Shandy | Etta Singleton |
| Wilma Stokes | - | _ |

ACTION ITEMS

President Debbie Lowndes indicated that the purpose of this meeting was to discuss the possible purchase of two computers – one for the ALA Alaska Girls State Program and one for the Department of Alaska Treasurer.

MOTION: Rehta Foster (Unit 28) and seconded by Lavonne Collier (Unit 1) to approve the purchase of a laptop computer for the ALA Alaska Girls State Program.

It was noted that the next Alaska Girls State Program (2019) will show a savings on the rental of a site for the program.

It was originally thought that these funds would come from Future Development, however clarification was made that they would come from the Alaska Girls State Account.

Lisa Williamson (Unit 57) asked if the computer would have all the software needed for the Alaska Girls State Program. Ann Robinson (Unit 33) indicated that it would meet the need of the program as far as different software and memory.

The computer would be a Dell Inspiron with a 17 inch screen and plenty of memory at a cost of approximately \$1,000.

The motion carried by voice vote with one person (Unit 28) opposed.

Sue Waldhaus (Unit 28) mentioned that in the email sent out about this, it was reported there was \$2,000 available. She had the understanding this was to purchase two computers.

President Lowndes explained that the Alaska Girls State Board approved the purchase of a computer for the Girls State Program at a cost up to \$2,000. She noted the second computer that was mentioned would come up under a different motion.

MOTION: Lisa Williamson (Unit 57) and seconded by Eva Aulston (Unit 1) to approve the purchase of a laptop computer for the Department of Alaska Treasurer with

money to come from the Future Development funds.

Ann Robinson (Unit 33) stated that it would be good for our Treasurer to have a laptop available at meetings. That way, when questions arise, she will be able to access the information she needs. In addition, at this time, she has her financial data on a thumb drive, which is not the safest method of transport and requires her to access information through whatever computer is available. Ann recommended purchasing the same type computer as being purchased for the Alaska Girls State program. Diana will also be able to utilize Quick Books on that computer.

April Sinclair (Unit 57) recommended being sure all laptops have wifi accessibility. These computers will have that. Ann also noted that most cell phones have the ability to be a secure hot spot for that computer only.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Eva Aulston (Unit 1) commented that not everyone has a computer or access to a computer or may have reasons they can't use a computer. She asked that we take that into consideration for future electronic information sharing.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Department Executive Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 7:20 p.m.